Yahoo Pipes – an “expert” weighs in and misses the point

UPDATE: Apparently I now have someone’s attention. Let me take a moment to address “experts” of all kinds who would seek to maintain or attain their status… and at the same time, not be particularly “helpful.” If there is a lesson here, let it be this:

I don’t call myself an “expert” in many fields… but I am lucky enough to have decades of experience in several. I do however learn quickly and am familiar with teh interwebz, online forums, chat rooms,  blogs, trolls, hackers, and all sorts of people who apparently make a living being “social media experts”, “SEO experts” and the like. I’ll say this once: I won’t be “fake friending” you in hopes of getting traffic and/or business. I don’t need your traffic, and I’d rather not go on about an unfortunate incident or misunderstanding. If you missed the boat, too bad… maybe you’ll get another chance to be helpful.

If it turns out your expertise isn’t needed during the 24 hours I learn about Yahoo Pipes, or whatever other subject, don’t take it personally. If you’d like to be a part of the Soft Machine experiment, drop me an introductory comment or engage with me elsewhere. Don’t expect me to entertain you in the commentary, or let you air your grievances, especially if you flubbed your chance to actually be helpful.

The Yahoo Pipes “expert” Hapdaniel (y!) (twitter) tells me I’ve fixed nothing, and should have read his tweet.

Also, I’m apparently a terrible person for having a huge master OPML that I want to efficiently process. Too bad he’s too busy being an “expert” to notice that I added the ability to “filter on folder name” while scanning the OPML!

My feedback to the nice people at Yahoo:

I tried to find suitable pipes, but in the end I had to write them myself. In addition, the person who responded on the message board was most unhelpful and nasty, and obviously thinks it’s a terrible thing to have a large OPML. And, he doesn’t understand that one wants to filter while scanning the OPML – that’s a key to having a huge master OPML that you can still use for multiple things efficiently.

I doubt I’ll participate here much going forward. I like Pipes though, and blogged about it, and deployed them on my site…

Thanks… and nice job on the Pipes machinery itself.

Posted in discussion. Tags: , , . Comments Off on Yahoo Pipes – an “expert” weighs in and misses the point
